Organizing My Stash

I have come to the conclusion that clear bins are NOT the way to store your stash. You have to unstack them off the shelves, open them, remove the contents, REPEAT for all bins, to go thru what you have, what might look good together, etc.  in order to utilize what you have. It’s just easier to go out & buy more!!!   

I’ve seen people neatly fold their fabric on shelves, but I know myself & will end up with a disheveled mess.  I’ve seen the Fabric Organizers that several companies offer. But I’m just a bit too frugal to pay for rectangular pieces of plastic or paper board. 

So I’ve been cutting cardboard squares approx 5″x6-1/2″. 

Cardbord For Fabric Organizer

cardboard For Fabric Organizer

 

I then fold the fabric, slide a piece of cardboard into it, fold the fabric around it, and pin it in the corner … rubber bands stretch or get brittle so I decided on a straight pin. 

Making A Mini-Bolt 1

Making A Mini-Bolt 1

Making A Mini-Bolt 2

Making A Mini-Bolt 2

Making A Mini-Bolt 3

Making A Mini-Bolt 3

Making A Mini-Bolt 4

Making A Mini-Bolt 4

I have a bunch of cardboard bins from the warehouse  to stand the fabric mini-bolts up in on shelves in my closet. (I have a REAL small room..approx 7’x11′) 

Mini-Bolts In Cardboard Bins

Mini-Bolts In Cardboard Bins

So now I can see at a glance what I have…what a nice feeling it is to see it all at once. I’ve gotten 7 bins done, and am almost finished…maybe only 1 or 2 more bins to go.  These are useful for sizes from a fat quarter up to about a yard. The multiple yard fabrics will just have to stay folded in plastic  bins, but I don’t have too many of those. 

Dessert Course

Dessert Course

Do you see this ungodly combination of foods?  From top right, going clockwise: 

  • Chocolate ice cream, peach ice cream, garnished with pineapple chunks
  • Watermelon
  • Banana pudding
  • Mussels
  • Crablegs

This was my dear George’s final course at the Chinese Buffet we ate at last night! It was just so wrong…I HAD to post a pic. 

But he DID get an absolutely great fortune in his fortune cookie: 

Life is not a problem to be solved, but rather a mystery to be lived.

I think this may just be my new personal anthem! It’s a pretty good way to look at life, I think!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Organizing My Stash”

  1. Lana Says:

    This was a great idea! (not the food combo…) but I love the stash idea! Thanks!

  2. kellymcmichael Says:

    thanks for the good ideas on storing fabric! I’ve been on a fat-quarter buying marathon this summer and have just been throwing them into a large clear bin. BUT, as you can guess, I can’t find anything! So I pulled them out the other day, organized them into two color groups (warm and cool) and have placed them each, folded neatly, in cardboard boxes that are not deep. I think this will work for a while, at least, because I can see the ends of the fabric and can thumb through the color schemes. I doubt it’s a permanent fix, especially if I keep buying more fabrics, but it’s better than it was!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

