Archive for June 7th, 2010

Mulberry Pie?

June 7, 2010

We have a Mulberry tree in the backyard.

Mulberry Branch

Mulberry Branch

This year it has an exceptional amount of berries, and they’re starting to ripen. George asked if I’d make him a Mulberry pie. I figured ‘why not’, so George picked while I started the crust.

Berries

He picked a goodly amount for a pie, eating as he went.

Bowl O'Berries

Bowl O'Berries

I used my standard crust recipe, and figured I’d use instructions  for a blackberry pie to guide my filling recipe.

Gramma's Pastry Blender

Gramma's Pastry Blender

After rinsing & blending with sugar & flour, the pie was filled.

Filling Ready To Bake

Out of the oven 45 minutes later (Excuse the large vent holes…Geo insisted on enlarging the nice slim slits I had scored the crust with!!)

Mulberry Pie

Mulberry Pie

After a late supper, Geo didn’t get around to having any for dessert last night, but had a piece this morning for breakfast.  He arrived here at the store with a sad expression on his face and apology on his lips. The pie really wasn’t very good.

Now, I’m a good cook, & a darn good pie baker. However, Mulberries have such a mild flavor that George was very disappointed with the results. 

I’ll try it when I get home tonight, but this might end up in the garbage can. Oh well…

As far as quilting, sewing, or any other handicrafts go at present, I’m sorry to report that  I haven’t touched a needle in weeks. Oh…I stitched a little on my Black & White & Pink All Over quilt I started a few monthes ago, and went to a friend’s house to pin her daughter’s bride’s maid gown for shortening, and her Mother of the Groom dress for shortening & slight altering, but that’s it.

I took my Singer Genie and a freshly stocked sewing kit down to the boat on Saturday, but was un-moved with taking any of my stash along  to begin a new ‘boat sized’ project. Figure I can do cutting (if it’s small pieces) & assembling blocks down there, bringing projects home as I need the space of home or the new Brother.