Fun With 4 Patch

Saturday, after I got done hosing down the deck on S/V Outrageous & doing ‘bug spot removal’ with bleach in the cockpit, I decided to sew up the 2″ squares I’d purchased recently. I paired them with a small dark blue & just started cutting & sewing.

You’ll notice, I’m sure, that this is not what one might call a big cutting surface. Ergo…itty bitty stuff. Any major cutting I have to do at home & bring along with to sew here. When we finally move aboard, I’ll have larger, but for now, this is fine. I’m here for weekends & usually sew a few hours if it’s rainy or too hot & humid or I just want a quiet moment. So there’s no need for a full set of equipment.

I sew at the salon table, and normally iron on the bed in our cabin.  Flat space & electric outlets are not in abundance.

But since I’d have SOOO many things to iron, I moved my boards out into the galley & ironed there. Lucy is usually on the settee next to me, while Molly prefers to lie on the floor near my feet.

My Cute Little Iron

I love my little iron…it really heats up well. I iron dry & use a spray bottle…I steam my fingers WAY too often. At this point, since it’s such a casual summer situation, I’m using a towel covered wooden board for my ‘ironing board’ & use it’s mate as a flat surface to rest my iron & water bottle upon. (They’re actually sink covers, used to extend my kitchen counter by covering the 2 small sinks in the galley.) When this life becomes a reality, I’ll have a proper cutting surface & ironing board.

This is on the counter in the galley…on top of the top loading refrigerator.  This model also has a door in the front, so you can use the frig and the counter at the same time.

Not real sure what to do with these..saw where someone had used small pateches for a circular center of a quilt…I’m thinkin’ maybe…..we’ll see.

It was just so humid here this weekend. Mid 80’s for both the temp & the humidity index, I do believe. And not near enough wind to go sailing. So we were marina bound. BUT…there was a ‘Toga Party’ hosted by our boat club. No, I didn’t wear a toga. But I DID win the 50/50 raffle…$84!!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

